A compilation of festival dates is presented in this festival calendar for the year 2017.


Indian Festivals Calendar



India is a land of fairs and festivals and every month, one or the other fair/festival occurs. Festivals in India symbolize color, gaiety, enthusiasm, prayers and rituals. People coming to India from abroad are awestruck by the scale and multiplicity of Indian festivals/fairs. Through fairs and festivals, we in India remember and commemorate the birthdays and great deeds of gods, goddesses, hero's, gurus, prophet's and saints.



Indian Festivals Calendar 2017
Date
Festival

January 2017
Sun, 01-Jan
New Year
Thu, 05-Jan
Guru Govind Singh Jayanti
Fri, 13-Jan
Lohri
Fri, 13-Jan ~ Sat, 16-Jan
Pongal
Sat, 14-Jan
Makar Sankranti
Sun, 15-Jan
Bhogali Bihu
Sun, 15-Jan
Bihu
Thu, 26-Jan
Republic Day
Fri, 27-Jan
Mauni Amavasya

February 2017
Wed, 01-Feb
Vasant Panchami
Fri, 10-Feb ~ Sat, 11-Feb
Tu B'Shevat
Tue, 14-Feb
Valentine's Day
Sat, 25-Feb
Maha Shivaratri
Mon, 27-Feb
Losar

March 2017
Wed, 01-Mar
Vikrami Samvat (Hindu New Year)
Sat, 11-Mar ~ Sun, 12-Mar
Purim
Mon, 13-Mar
Holi
Mon, 13-Mar ~ Tue, 14-Mar
Holla Mohalla
Mon, 20-Mar
Navroz
Sun, 26-Mar
Khordad Sal
Sun, 26-Mar
Mothering Sunday
Tue, 28-Mar ~ Wed, 05-Apr
Chaitra Navratri
Tue, 28-Mar
Gudi Padwa
Tue, 28-Mar
Ugadi

April 2017
Wed, 05-Apr
Birthday of Guru Har Rai (Nanakshahi Calendar)
Wed, 05-Apr
Rama Navami
Sun, 09-Apr
Mahavir Jayanti
Sun, 09-Apr
Palm Sunday
Mon, 10-Apr
Birthday of Guru Angad Dev (Nanakshahi calendar)
Mon, 10-Apr ~ Tue, 18-Apr
Passover
Tue, 11-Apr
Hanuman Jayanti
Thu, 13-Apr ~ Mon, 17-Apr
Rongali Bihu
Fri, 14-Apr
Baisakhi
Fri, 14-Apr
Good Friday
Sun, 16-Apr
Easter Day (Western)
Tue, 18-Apr
Easter Day (Orthodox)
Wed, 19-Apr
Birthday of Guru Tegh Bahadur (Nanakshahi calendar)
Tue, 25-Apr
Ganesh Chaturthi
Fri, 28-Apr
Akshay Tritiya
Sat, 29-Apr
Birthday of Guru Arjan Dev (Nanakshahi calendar)
Sat, 29-Apr
Martyrdom of Guru Arjan Dev (Nanakshahi Calendar)
Sat, 29-Apr
Second Passover

May 2017
Wed, 10-May
Buddha Purnima
Sat, 13-May ~ Sun, 14-May
Lag B'Omer
Sun, 14-May
Mother's Day
Sat, 20-May
Birthday of Guru Amar Das (Nanakshahi calendar)
Sat, 27-May
Ramadan Begins
Mon, 29-May
Birthday of Guru Hargobind (Nanakshahi calendar)
Tue, 30-May ~ Thu, 01-Jun
Shavuot

June 2017
Sat, 03-Jun
Ganga Dussehra
Sun, 18-Jun
Father's Day
Sun, 25-Jun
Id-ul-Fitar, Ramadan Ends
Sun, 25-Jun
Rath Yatra

July 2017
Mon, 03-Jul ~ Tue, 04-Jul
Hemis Gompa
Sun, 09-Jul
Guru Purnima
Tue, 11-Jul ~ Tue, 01-Aug
The Three Weeks
Sun, 23-Jul
Parents Day
Thu, 27-Jul
Naag Panchami
Fri, 28-Jul
Birthday of Guru Har Krishan (Nanakshahi calendar)

August 2017
Sun, 06-Aug
Friendship Day
Sun, 06-Aug
The 15th of Av
Mon, 07-Aug
Raksha Bandhan
Mon, 14-Aug
Shri Krishna Janmashtami
Tue, 15-Aug
Independence Day

September 2017
Fri, 01-Sep
Eid ul-Adha
Mon, 04-Sep
Onam
Tue, 05-Sep
Teacher's Day
Tue, 05-Sep
Ullambana
Sun, 10-Sep
Grandparents Day
Sun, 17-Sep
Vishwakarma Puja
Wed, 20-Sep
Al-Hijira, Muharram Begins
Wed, 20-Sep
Jamshedi Noruz (Zoroastrian New Year in Qadimi Calendar)
Wed, 20-Sep ~ Fri, 22-Sep
Rosh Hashanah
Thu, 21-Sep
Navaratra Begins
Thu, 21-Sep ~ Fri, 29-Sep
Sharad Navratri
Tue, 26-Sep ~ Sat, 30-Sep
Durga Puja
Fri, 29-Sep ~ Sat, 30-Sep
Yom Kippur
Sat, 30-Sep
Dussehra

October 2017
Sun, 01-Oct
Ashura
Mon, 02-Oct
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Wed, 04-Oct ~ Wed, 11-Oct
Sukkot
Sun, 08-Oct
Karva Chauth
Mon, 09-Oct
Birthday of Guru Ram Das (Nanakshahi calendar)
Wed, 11-Oct ~ Fri, 13-Oct
Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah
Mon, 16-Oct
Boss Day
Tue, 17-Oct
Dhan Teras
Wed, 18-Oct
Kongali Bihu
Thu, 19-Oct
Diwali
Thu, 19-Oct
Kali Puja
Fri, 20-Oct
Govardhan Puja
Fri, 20-Oct
Muharram Ends
Sat, 21-Oct
Bhai Duj
Thu, 26-Oct
Chhath Puja Begins (Nahai Khai)
Sun, 29-Oct
Chhath Puja Ends (Sandhya Argh)
Tue, 31-Oct
Halloween

November 2017
Sat, 04-Nov
Guru Nanak Jayanti
Tue, 14-Nov
Children's day
Thu, 23-Nov
Thanksgiving Day
Fri, 24-Nov
Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahadur (Nanakshahi calendar)
Thu, 30-Nov
Milad un-Nabi
Thu, 30-Nov
St Andrews Day

December 2017
Sat, 02-Dec ~ Wed, 20-Dec
Hanukkah
Sat, 02-Dec
Milad un Nabi (Shia)
Fri, 08-Dec
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Mon, 25-Dec
Christmas