Festivals in India


A compilation of festival dates is presented in this festival calendar for the year 2014.


Indian Festivals Calendar

India is a land of fairs and festivals and every month, one or the other fair/festival occurs. Festivals in India symbolize color, gaiety, enthusiasm, prayers and rituals. People coming to India from abroad are awestruck by the scale and multiplicity of Indian festivals/fairs. Through fairs and festivals, we in India remember and commemorate the birthdays and great deeds of gods, goddesses, hero's, gurus, prophet's and saints.



Indian Festivals Calendar 2014
Date
Festival

January 2014
Wed, 01-Jan
New Year
Sun, 05-Jan
Guru Govind Singh Jayanti
Mon, 13-Jan
Lohri
Tue, 14-Jan ~ Fri, 17-Jan
Bhogali Bihu
Tue, 14-Jan ~ Fri, 17-Jan
Bihu
Tue, 14-Jan
Makar Sankranti
Tue, 14-Jan
Milad un-Nabi
Tue, 14-Jan ~ Fri, 17-Jan
Pongal
Thu, 16-Jan
Tu B'Shevat
Sat, 18-Jan
Milad un Nabi (Shia)
Sun, 26-Jan
Republic Day
Thu, 30-Jan
Mauni Amavasya
Fri, 31-Jan
Birthday of Guru Har Rai (Nanakshahi Calendar)

February 2014
Tue, 04-Feb
Vasant Panchami
Fri, 14-Feb
Valentine's Day
Thu, 27-Feb
Maha Shivaratri

March 2014
Sun, 02-Mar
Losar
Sat, 15-Mar ~ Sun, 16-Mar
Purim
Mon, 17-Mar
Holi
Mon, 17-Mar
Holla Mohalla
Fri, 21-Mar
Navroz
Wed, 26-Mar
Khordad Sal
Sun, 30-Mar
Mothering Sunday
Mon, 31-Mar ~ Tue, 08-Apr
Chaitra Navratri
Mon, 31-Mar
Gudi Padwa
Mon, 31-Mar
Ugadi
Mon, 31-Mar
Vikrami Samvat (Hindu New Year)

April 2014
Tue, 08-Apr
Rama Navami
Sun, 13-Apr
Mahavir Jayanti
Sun, 13-Apr
Palm Sunday
Mon, 14-Apr
Baisakhi
Mon, 14-Apr ~ Tue, 22-Apr
Passover
Mon, 14-Apr ~ Wed, 16-Apr
Rongali Bihu
Tue, 15-Apr
Hanuman Jayanti
Fri, 18-Apr
Birthday of Guru Angad Dev (Nanakshahi calendar)
Fri, 18-Apr
Birthday of Guru Tegh Bahadur (Nanakshahi calendar)
Fri, 18-Apr
Good Friday
Sun, 20-Apr
Easter Day (Orthodox)
Sun, 20-Apr
Easter Day (Western)

May 2014
Fri, 02-May
Akshay Tritiya
Fri, 02-May
Birthday of Guru Arjan Dev (Nanakshahi calendar)
Sun, 11-May
Mother's Day
Wed, 14-May
Buddha Purnima
Wed, 14-May
Second Passover
Sun, 18-May
Lag B'Omer
Fri, 23-May
Birthday of Guru Amar Das (Nanakshahi calendar)

June 2014
Tue, 03-Jun ~ Thu, 05-Jun
Shavuot
Sun, 08-Jun
Ganga Dussehra
Sun, 15-Jun
Father's Day
Mon, 16-Jun
Martyrdom of Guru Arjan Dev (Nanakshahi Calendar)
Sat, 28-Jun
Ramadan Begins
Sun, 29-Jun
Rath Yatra

July 2014
Sat, 05-Jul
Birthday of Guru Hargobind (Nanakshahi calendar)
Mon, 07-Jul ~ Tue, 08-Jul
Hemis Gompa
Sat, 12-Jul
Guru Purnima
Tue, 15-Jul ~ Tue, 05-Aug
The Three Weeks
Sat, 19-Jul
Jamshedi Noruz (Zoroastrian New Year in Qadimi Calendar)
Wed, 23-Jul
Birthday of Guru Har Krishan (Nanakshahi calendar)
Sun, 27-Jul
Parents Day
Mon, 28-Jul
Id-ul-Fitar, Ramadan Ends

August 2014
Fri, 01-Aug
Naag Panchami
Sun, 03-Aug
Friendship Day
Sun, 10-Aug
Raksha Bandhan
Sun, 10-Aug
Ullambana
Mon, 11-Aug
The 15th of Av
Fri, 15-Aug
Independence Day
Sun, 17-Aug
Shri Krishna Janmashtami
Fri, 29-Aug
Ganesh Chaturthi

September 2014
Fri, 05-Sep
Teacher's Day
Sun, 07-Sep
Grandparents Day
Sun, 07-Sep
Onam
Wed, 17-Sep
Vishwakarma Puja
Wed, 24-Sep ~ Fri, 26-Sep
Hashanah
Thu, 25-Sep
Navaratra Begins
Thu, 25-Sep ~ Fri, 03-Oct
Sharad Navratri
Tue, 30-Sep ~ Sat, 04-Oct
Durga Puja

October 2014
Thu, 02-Oct
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Fri, 03-Oct ~ Sat, 04-Oct
Yom Kippur
Sat, 04-Oct
Dussehra
Sat, 04-Oct
Eid ul-Adha
Wed, 08-Oct ~ Wed, 15-Oct
Sukkot
Thu, 09-Oct
Birthday of Guru Ram Das (Nanakshahi calendar)
Sat, 11-Oct
Karva Chauth
Wed, 15-Oct ~ Fri, 17-Oct
Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah
Thu, 16-Oct
Boss Day
Tue, 21-Oct
Dhan Teras
Thu, 23-Oct
Diwali
Thu, 23-Oct
Kali Puja
Fri, 24-Oct ~ Sun, 23-Nov
Al-Hijira, Muharram Begins
Fri, 24-Oct
Govardhan Puja
Sat, 25-Oct
Bhai Duj
Mon, 27-Oct
Chhath Puja Begins (Nahai Khai)
Wed, 29-Oct
Chhath Puja Ends (Sandhya Argh)
Fri, 31-Oct
Halloween

November 2014
Mon, 03-Nov
Ashura
Thu, 06-Nov
Guru Nanak Jayanti
Fri, 14-Nov
Children's day
Sun, 23-Nov
Muharram Ends
Mon, 24-Nov
Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahadur (Nanakshahi calendar)
Thu, 27-Nov
Thanksgiving Day
Sun, 30-Nov
St Andrews Day

December 2014
Mon, 08-Dec
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Tue, 16-Dec
Hanukkah
Thu, 25-Dec
Christmas









Copyright © 2014 Awesomeji.com